Monday, 2 January 2017

New Army and IAF Chiefs take charge

  • Gen Bipin Rawat took over as the 27th chief of the 1.3 million strong Indian Army succeeding Gen Dalbir Singh Suhag on 31st Dec 2016.
  • Air Marshal Birender Singh Dhanoa also took charge as the 25th Air Force Chief replacing Arup Raha.

About Gen Bipin Rawat:
  • Gen Bipin Rawat is the 27th Chief of Army Staff of the Indian Army and assumed office on 31 December 2016. 
  • He assumed the post after General Dalbir Singh was relinquished from the appointment..
  • Gen Bipin Rawat was commissioned into the 5th Battalion of 11 Gorkha Rifles on 16th Dec 1978 and has a vast experience in high altitude warfare and counter insurgency operations and the deserts.
  • Awards and Honour:
    • Ati Vishisht Seva Medal
    • Yudh Seva Medal
    • Sena Medal
    • Vishisht Seva Medal
  • He is the second generation officer of the Indian Army.

About Air Marshal Birender Singh Dhanoa:
  • Air Marhal B S Dhanoa is the 22nd Chief of the Air Staff of the Indian Air Force
  • He assumed the post on 31 December 2016 after Air Chief Marshal Arup Raha retired.
  • Dhanoa was commissioned into the fighter stream of the Indian Air Force in June 1978.
  • He undertook several night-time strike missions while commanding a fighter squadron during Kargil conflict in 1999.
  • He has held several key operational and administrative appointments in his 37 years of career including Station Commander of a fighter base and as a leader of an Indian Military Training Team abroad.
  • Awards and Medals:
    • Ati Vishisht Seva Medal (2015)
    • Yudh Seva Medal (1999)
    • Vayu Seva Medal (1999)
    • Ati Vishisht Seva Medal (2015)

More Updates: